The Strange Land is Definitely Stranger than me!

So I was on the bus coming home today, later/earlier than usual, which means I hit rush hour. When I saw bus 25 coming, I only sighed with relief, as it meant getting out of the suddenly intense snow. I noticed the larger than normal amount of people, but I didn’t think anything of it.

Until I got on the bus.

Literally, I was smashed up against the door for 2 stops, until everyone got settled. I paid the conductor by holding my 15 r above some heads in her general direction, and pulled it back when I felt a ticket. THAT CROWDED. The resident directors weren’t kidding about surfing the bus! I didn’t even need to hold on, because there was nowhere to go anyway. This was a hilarious exercise in people watching. But also a wonderful realization of how happy I am to have been placed here in Vladimir. In Petersburg (especially) or Moscow, I would have to worry about pickpockets. Here I hold my bag close and low, and have zero problems.

I also noticed a few more things about Russians in general. Russian women, for one, have a penchant for fake nails. They absolutely CANNOT GET ENOUGH of acrylics. Mainly French manicures are what I see, but the current trend I’m noting is the accent nail (just like in America, typically one or both ring fingers) is painted with extra flowers or designs or even rhinestones. Sometimes this works. Other times it just looks TACKY. Especially when they’re too far grown out. Like woah.

Russian men, on the other hand, are all about 1) the brands (here’s looking at you, Mr. Adidas) or 2) the leather. Mr. Adidas, a fellow passenger on the ride home today, went all the way and used Adidas cologne as well. (I’m not a creeper, its the kind my dad uses!) Go hard or go home I guess! Older guys, 25 and up usually, go for the leather if they can afford it. Also, hats. The small-brimmed cap is such a thing. Not sure what to make of it yet…

Of course, those are just my thoughts. Mainly I’m doing more drinking than anything. Drinking what? you may ask…

I’ll tell you. But only because I know there are programs out there to help people like me.

 

 

My name is Mary, and I’ve been in Russia for about a week now. I’ve consumed more than 100 cups of tea.

I don’t even know how it happened. But here I am, making more tea! Let me tell you, its quite the lifestyle. So in case anyone was worried about me – YOU SHOULD BE. 😉

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Strange Land is Definitely Stranger than me!

  1. Grammie

    Hi Honey! Its Grammie! Keep drinking that tea!!!! I love your Blog-that is my new word!I love seeing your new world in the photos and in your writings. I am very impressed with how well you write. I love you so much and I will keep reading as you live and write. I am praying for you constantly ; maybe that helped even with that last ride. Please be very careful and ask God for help every day. I love you so much, Grammie.
    P.S. Give my best to Tatiana and a Big THANK YOU also to her. 🙂

  2. kitty

    hi Mary…love you…more later-mom

  3. Joe Hession

    That would only be Adidas Dynamic Pulse to be correct!!
    Hope you’re having a wonderful day, Masha!
    I love you very much! Dad

  4. Very interesting Mary. Enjoy this experience!! Lori (Scotty’s mom)

Leave a Reply

